Difference between "Smart Client Contrib" and "Prism Contrib"

Jun 17, 2008 at 3:03 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie. I am just wandering around to get Smart Client Guideline for WPF for recent few months. That time I just came to know about "Smart Client Contrib" and started using it in my application. I am confused on seeing the project "Prism Contrib". I have downloaded some sample applications in Prism which looks same like SmartClientContrib.

Could you please explain me the difference between "Smart Client Contrib" and "Prism Contrib"? If both are similar which way should I have to use?
Developer
Jun 18, 2008 at 8:51 PM
Edited Jun 18, 2008 at 8:55 PM
Hi venki, the difference between these sites, is that they extend different patterns & practices projects.

Let me know if this helps,

Ezequiel Jadib 
http://blogs.southworks.net/ejadib

Jun 19, 2008 at 7:49 AM

ejadib wrote:
Hi venki, the difference between these sites, is that they extend different patterns & practices projects.

Ezequiel Jadib 

Hi Ezequiel,
This is fine. Since I am new to this, could you please explain me a little bit more? I need to give an WPF application with Smart Client Guidance. Which way I have to choose?
Developer
Jul 7, 2008 at 1:57 PM
Hi venki, let me share with you a section of the Composite Application Guidance for WPF documentation that you might find useful:

The patterns & practices team has several deliverables for building composite applications. The following list highlights the scenarios where you should consider using each:

• If you need to develop a composite Windows Forms application, consider using Smart Client Software Factory:
    • It leverages the most mature platform.
    • It offers a good development and debugging experience (including tooling, control support, drag and drop, and rapid application development experience).
    • It includes code generation (this is provided with guidance package support and recipes).